Case Studies

Industry diversity

Industrial robots are needed in almost all industries. This increasingly requires the use of 3D vision solutions. By using deep learning algorithms, the vision system from Mech-Mind Robotics is extremely flexible and can be easily adapted to the requirements of the respective industry. 

Retail: Depalletizing of cartons

Traditional industrial robots can have issues dealing with random piled pallets and large numbers of boxes that vary in size and shape. So for the customer, a supermarket company, the depalletizing process is complex due to the high requirements on speed and stability. Mech-Mind’s AI+3D Industrial Robot Solution can quickly recognize various boxes and pallet patterns. Even closely piled boxes, with tapes, different patterns, and reflective films do not cause a problem. The intelligent AI algorithm calculates an optimal grasping strategy according to the pallet pattern, enabling robots to handle several boxes at a single grasp. Such an intelligent robot can process 2000 cases per hour, 24 hours/day and therefore increase the productivity and stability of the process.

[Translate to Englisch:]

Construction equipment manufacturer: Bin Picking of track links

To increase efficiency with a guaranteed 24-hour production, Mech-Mind’s AI+3D industrial robot solutions enable the automation of bin picking of track links for a large construction equipment manufacturer. The 3D vision system recognizes and locates the track links piled in a deep bin, instructs the robot to grab one by one, double-check front and back side, and place them at a defined area in a fixed position. By using Mech-Eye Laser L, possible interferences of ambient light are significantly reduced and the camera can provide high precision pictures of a wide filed of view. Dozens of workstations have been automated, increasing the daily output up to over 1000 and reducing the costs by 60%.

[Translate to Englisch:]

Automotive industry: Machine tending of flange discs

Manual machine tending for heavy objects like flange discs is not friendly to the workers’ health and inefficient. To boost productivity, while maintaining production stability, a large flange disc manufacturer in China decided to automate its production line with Mech-Mind’s AI+3D industrial robotic solution. The superior 3D system guides robots to grab flange discs randomly piled in the deep bin and place them at their correct orientations and sides. This solution is suitable for picking flange discs of various specifications, can generate real-time data of the exact statuses and positions of each flange discs, and with the included intelligent motion planning system calculates the optimal path for the robots, so their movement is precise, stable, and collision-free.

Automotive industry:
Machine tending of crankshafts

Due to their complex structure and reflective surface, crankshafts represent a major challenge for automation processes. Mech-Mind Robotics was able to meet the high requirements of its customer: With the help of a high-precision anti-reflective camera from the Mech-Eye series and AI-supported machine vision, the robot detects the optimal gripping point of the heavy metal objects stacked in a container, picks them up individually and places them safely on the conveyor belt.

Automotive industry: Assembly of wheels

Automation solutions for wheel assembly usually do not fullfill the flexibility requirements of the production line because they require a fixed wheel and assembly position. The solution from Mech-Mind Robotics, on the other hand, can precisely localize both tire and assembly position. Incoming tires are automatically matched to the specified vehicle body and the wheels are mounted in motion. In addition, the system allows the assembly of a wide range of wheel models without the need to adapt the fixtures. 

Automotive industry: Bin Picking of inner gears

[Translate to Englisch:]

Challenging lighting and harsh working environment provide severe challenges for bin picking. For a large auto part factory Mech-Mind Robotics developed a 3D vision guided solution using Mech-Eye Laser L, which guides the robot to recognize and accurately grab inner gears randomly lying in the deep bin and place them at their designated positions. The solution can concurrently feed two machine tools and improved overall efficiency dramatically. The intelligent AI algorithms and the built-in motion planning and collision detection algorithms ensure an accurate and stable process.

Automotive industry: Machine loading of brake discs

Brake discs go through several processing steps before they leave the factory. Conventional machine loading is still often done manually. For increasing the productivity, a system from Mech-Mind Robotics was integrated for a customer in the automotive supply industry that detects randomly stacked brake discs, picks them up and places them in the machine tool for processing. By automating the process, production stability was also significantly optimized.

Automotive industry: Picking of reflective components

Manual picking of con-rods is time-consuming, inefficient and costly. However, for conventional automation solutions, their reflective surface often poses a challenge. The high-precision Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced anti-reflective camera easily detects even con-rods that are randomly stacked or densely placed in bins, picks them up collision-free and guides them stably to their destination.

Automotive industry: Sorting of components

A large number of individual components are required in an automotive assembly production line. The automated loading of a wide variety of components can be integrated into the assembly process reliably with the all-in-one solution from Mech-Mind Robotics. The robot selects the required parts, picks them up collision-free and guides them to their destination in a stable manner.

Construction equipment manufacturer: Picking and sorting of steel plates

[Translate to Englisch:]

Picking steel plates of different specifications and shapes from a conveyor belt and then palletizing them sorted by each type is a challenging task for robots. Mech-Mind’s AI+3D industrial robot solution includes the Mech-Eye Laser L industrial 3D camera with a wide field of view combined with high precision to recognize the individual plates, intelligent analysis and planning of the gripping points, and the built-in intelligent palletizing strategy to create the optimal palletizing pattern and to ensure the full usage of the space. This solution is the first satisfying and stable running material staging production line for the customer and regarded as a benchmark for further projects.

Food industry:
Depalletizing of cartons

Manual depalletizing is inefficient when the cartons are large and heavy. Even smaller food factories therefore rely on robust automation solutions for palletizing and depalletizing their product cartons. Robots equipped with the Mech-Mind Robotics 3D vision system detect cartons of different sizes and poses, take them off the pallet  and place them on the conveyor belt. As accurate and clever as in Tetris.

Furniture industry: Bonding of backrests

In image vision, white surfaces mean zero information. Therefore, white is a great challenge for vision-based automation processes. For a furniture manufacturer, Mech-Mind Robotics implemented an AI-supported solution that reliably detects randomly placed white backrest on an assembly line and glues them precisely along defined contours. This is made possible by the use of the high-resolution, low-reflection Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced 3D camera, which generates exact 3D images even of black or reflective components.

Logistics: Parcel sorting at China Post

Mech-Mind robotergestützte Paketsortierung Post China

China Post Group is a rapidly expanding logistics company in mainland of China. Until now, parcels had to be manually placed into roller containers and bags at the sorting center. With the cost-efficient complete solution from Mech-Mind Robotics, parcel sorting has now been fully automated. The intelligent system autonomously distinguishes hard cartons from soft-packed parcels. Singulation problems have been minimized and cycle times significantly increased. The use of robots also avoids close employee contact - thus implementing the requirements for protection against Covid-19.  

Pharmaceutical industry: Depalletizing of cartons

[Translate to Englisch:]

In the warehouse of a large pharmaceutical factory, countless various SKUs, of which most are heavy, pricey, and flimsy, must be depalletized. While manually depalletizing is low-efficient, high-cost, and error-prone, Mech-Mind’s AI+3D industrial robot solution enables robots to work 24 hours a day without tiring, significantly lifting the overall productivity. The powerful 3D vision system generates precise point cloud data while AI algorithms set the suction cup at a proper position, which enables robots to accurately and precisely grab one or several cases. Quick recognition of new cartons and easy handling of various random pallet patterns, help optimize consistency and efficiency.

Pharmaceutical industry: Depalletizing of sacks

The customer's requirement sounds simple: A robot is to pick up stacked, solid white bags individually and place them in a machine. But many   vision systems have problems recognizing densely packed, wrinkled bags of different sizes. With our Mech-Eye 3D camera with a wide field of view and the intelligent Mech-Vision software for precise processing of 3D point clouds, Mech-Mind Robotics implements a process-safe solution.

Case Studies

Branchenvielfalt

Industrieroboter werden in nahezu allen Branchen benötigt. Das erfordert immer häufiger auch den Einsatz von 3D-Bildverarbeitungslösungen. Durch Verwendung von Deep Learning Algorithmen ist das Vision System von Mech-Mind Robotics äußerst flexibel und lässt sich problemlos an die Anforderungen der jeweiligen Branche anpassen.

Handel: Depalettieren von Kartons

Herkömmliche Industrieroboter können Probleme mit zufällig gestapelten Paletten und einer großen Anzahl von Kartons, die in Größe und Form variieren, haben. Für den Kunden, ein Supermarktunternehmen, ist der Depalettierungsprozess aufgrund der hohen Anforderungen an Geschwindigkeit und Stabilität daher sehr komplex. Die KI+3D-Industrieroboterlösung von Mech-Mind kann verschiedene Kartons und Palettenmuster schnell erkennen. Auch dicht gestapelte Kartons, mit Klebebändern, unterschiedlichen Mustern und reflektierenden Folien, stellen kein Problem dar. Der intelligente KI-Algorithmus berechnet anhand des Palettenmusters eine optimale Greifstrategie, die es dem Roboter möglich macht, mehrere Kartons mit einem einzelnen Griff handzuhaben. So ein intelligenter Roboter kann 2000 Kartons pro Stunde, 24 Stunden/Tag bearbeiten und somit die Produktivität und Stabilität des Prozesses erhöhen.

Baumaschinenhersteller: Bin Picking von Gleiskettengliedern

Um die Effizienz mit einer garantierten 24-Stunden-Produktion zu steigern, ermöglichen die KI+3D-Industrieroboterlösungen von Mech-Mind die Automatisierung des Bin Pickings von Gleiskettengliedern für einen großen Baumaschinenhersteller. Das 3D-Bildverarbeitungssystem erkennt und lokalisiert die gestapelten Kettenglieder in einem tiefen Behälter, weist den Roboter an, eines nach dem anderen zu greifen, Vorder- und Rückseite doppelt zu prüfen und sie in einem definierten Bereich in einer vorgegebenen Position abzulegen. Durch die Verwendung von Mech-Eye Laser L werden mögliche Störungen durch Umgebungslicht erheblich reduziert und die Kamera kann hochpräzise Bilder mit einem breiten Sichtfeld liefern. Dutzende von Arbeitsstationen wurden automatisiert, wodurch die Tagesleistung auf über 1000 gesteigert und die Kosten um 60 % gesenkt wurden.

Automobilindustrie: Maschinenbeladung von Flanschscheiben

Manuelle Maschinenbeladung schwerer Gegenständen wie Flanschscheiben ist gesundheitsschädlich und ineffizient. Um die Produktivität zu steigern und gleichzeitig die Produktionsstabilität aufrechtzuerhalten, beschloss ein großer Hersteller von Flanschscheiben in China, seine Produktionslinie mit der KI+3D-Industrieroboterlösung von Mech-Mind zu automatisieren. Das überlegene 3D-System leitet Roboter an, um zufällig in tiefen Behälter gestapelte Flanschscheiben zu greifen und sie in der richtigen Ausrichtung und auf der richtigen Seite zu platzieren. Diese Lösung eignet sich für das Greifen von Flanschscheiben unterschiedlicher Spezifikationen, kann Echtzeitdaten über die genauen Lage und Position jeder Flanschscheibe generieren und berechnet mit dem enthaltenen intelligenten Bewegungsplanungssystem den optimalen Weg für die Roboter, damit ihre Bewegung präzise, stabil und kollisionsfrei ist.

Automobilindustrie:
Maschinenbeladung von Kurbelwellen

Aufgrund ihrer komplexen Struktur und ihrer reflektierenden Oberfläche stellen Kurbelwellen eine große Herausforderung für Automatisierungsprozesse dar. Mech-Mind Robtics konnte die hohen Anforderungen seines Kunden erfüllen: Mithilfe einer hochpräzisen Antireflexionskamera der Mech-Eye Serie und KI-gestützter Bildverarbeitung erkennt der Roboter den optimalen Greifpunkt der schweren, in einem Behälter gestapelten Metallobjekte, nimmt sie einzeln auf und legt Sie sicher auf dem Förderband ab.

Automobilindustrie: Bin Picking von Innenzahnrädern

Herausfordernde Beleuchtung und raue Arbeitsumgebungen stellen Bin Picking vor große Herausforderungen. Für eine große Autoteilefabrik hat Mech-Mind Robotics eine 3D-Vision-geführte Lösung mit Mech-Eye Laser L entwickelt, die den Roboter anleitet, um zufällig in einem tiefen Behälter liegende Innenzahnräder zu erkennen, genau zu greifen und sie an den vorgesehenen Positionen zu platzieren. Die Lösung kann zwei Werkzeugmaschinen gleichzeitig beschicken und die Gesamteffizienz drastisch verbessern. Die intelligenten KI-Algorithmen und die integrierten Bewegungsplanungs- und Kollisionserkennungsalgorithmen sorgen für einen genauen und stabilen Prozess.

Automobilindustrie: Kommissionierung reflektierender Bauteile

Die manuelle Kommissionierung von Pleuelstangen ist zeitaufwändig, ineffizient und kostspielig. Für herkömmliche Automatisierungslösungen stellt deren reflektierende Oberfläche aber oft eine Herausforderung dar. Die hochpräzise Antireflexionskamera Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced erkennt selbst willkürlich gestapelte oder dicht in Behältern platzierte Pleuelstangen problemlos, nimmt diese kollisionsfrei auf und führt sie stabil ihrem Zielort zu.

Automobilindustrie: Maschinenbeladung von Bremsscheiben

Bremsscheiben durchlaufen mehrere Verarbeitungsprozesse, bevor sie die Fabrik verlassen. Die herkömmliche Maschinenbestückung erfolgt noch häufig manuell. Zur Steigerung der Produktivität wurde für einen Kunden der Automobilzulieferindustrie ein System von Mech-Mind Robotics integriert, das willkürlich gestapelte Bremsscheiben erkennt, aufnimmt und in die Werkzeugmaschine zur Bearbeitung ablegt. Durch die Automatisierung des Prozesses wurde zudem die Produktionsstabilität deutlich optimiert.

Automobilindustrie: Montage von Rädern

Automatisierungslösungen für die Radmontage erfüllen meist die Flexibilitätsanforderungen der Produktionslinie nicht, weil sie eine feste Rad- und Montageposition erfordern. Die Lösung von Mech-Mind Robotics kann dagegen Reifen- wie auch Montageposition präzise lokalisieren. Eingehende Reifen werden automatisch an die vorgegebene Fahrzeugkarosserie angepasst und die Räder in Bewegung montiert. Außerdem erlaubt das System die Montage unterschiedlichster Radmodelle, ohne das Fixiervorrichtungen angepasst werden müssen. 

Automobilindustrie: Sortierung von Bauteilen

Eine Vielzahl einzelner Bauteile wird in einer Produktionslinie der Automontage benötigt. Die automatisierte Beschickung mit unterschiedlichsten Bauteilen lässt sich mit der All-in-One Lösung von Mech-Mind Robotics prozesssicher in die Montage integrieren. Der Roboter wählt die erforderlichen Teile aus greift sie kollisionsfrei auf und führt sie stabil ihrem Zielort zu.

Baumaschinenhersteller: Greifen und Sortieren von Stahlplatten

Stahlplatten mit unterschiedlichen Spezifikationen und Formen von einem Förderband zu nehmen und sie dann sortenrein zu palettieren, ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe für Roboter. Die AI+3D-Industrieroboterlösung von Mech-Mind umfasst die industrielle 3D-Kamera Mech-Eye Laser L mit weitem Sichtfeld kombiniert mit hoher Präzision zur Erkennung der einzelnen Platten, intelligente Analyse und Planung der Greifpunkte und die eingebaute Intelligenz Palettierstrategie, um das optimale Palettenmuster zu erstellen und die volle Nutzung des Platzes sicherzustellen. Diese Lösung ist die erste zufriedenstellend und stabil laufende Materialbereitstellungs-Produktionslinie für den Kunden und gilt als Benchmark für weitere Projekte.

Haushaltsgeräte: Hochpräzise Montage von Heizpaneelen

Heizpaneele sind zentrale Bauteile in Klimageräten. Bislang konnten die unregelmäßig gestapelten, komplex strukturierten Heizplatten im bestehenden Automatisierungssystem eines Haushaltgeräteherstellers nicht verlässlich verarbeitet werden. Mech-Mind Robotics hat im eigenen Labor eine realistische Testumgebung mit Originalbauteilen des Kunden installiert. Mithilfe einer Mech-Eye 3D-Kamera mit großem Sichtfeld und der intelligenten Bildverarbeitung Mech-Vision wurde eine Lösung bereitgestellt, die in der KI-gestützten Montage eine Genauigkeit von 99,99 % erzielt. 

Haushaltsgeräte: Schweißpunkt-Erkennung

Schweißpunkt-Erkennung durch die Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced 3D-Kamera in der Fertigung von Klimageräten

Die Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced 3D-Kamera mit hoher Präzision und Antireflexion erzeugt hochwertige 3D-Bilddaten der Schweißpunkten auf komplexen Kupferrohren, wie sie in der Fertigung von Klimageräten verbaut werden. Damit gelingt es, die Mündung eines Suchgerätes exakt auf die Schweißpunkte an verschiedenen Positionen des Rohrs auszurichten und so Lecks aufzufinden. Dadurch ist es Mech-Mind Robotics gelungen, den aufwändigen Prozess einer manuellen Leckerkennung zu automatisieren und Fehlraten in der Qualitätskontrolle drastisch zu reduzieren.

Lebensmittelindustrie:
Depalettieren von Kartons

Manuelles Depalettieren ist bei großen Mengen und hohem Gewicht der Kartons ineffizient. Selbst kleinere Lebensmittelfabriken setzen daher auf stabile Automatisierungslösungen zur Palettierung und Depalettierung ihrer Produktkartons. Roboter, die mit dem Mech-Mind Robotics 3D-Vision-System ausgestattet sind, erkennen Kartons verschiedener Größen und Posen, nehmen sie einzeln von der Palette und platzieren sie auf dem Förderband. So genau und klug wie in Tetris.

Logistik: Paketsortierung bei China Post

Mech-Mind robotergestützte Paketsortierung Post China

Die China Post Group ist ein stark expandierendes Logistik-Unternehmen auf dem chinesischen Festland. Bislang mussten Pakete im Sortierzentrum manuell in Rollcontainer und Säcke abgelegt werden. Mit der kosteneffizienten Komplettlösung von Mech-Mind Robotics, wurde nun die Paketsortierung voll automatisiert. Das intelligente Systems unterscheidet autark harte Kartons von weich verpackten Paketen. Singulationsprobleme wurden minimiert und die Taktzeit deutlich erhöht. Durch den Robotereinsatz werden zudem enge Mitarbeiterkontakte vermieden – und damit die Vorschriften zum Schutz vor Covid-19 umgesetzt.  

Möbelindustrie: Verklebung von Rückenlehnen

Weiße Fläche bedeuten in der Bildverarbeitung: Null-Information. Daher stellt Weiß vision-basierte Automatisierungsprozesse vor große Herausforderungen. Für einen Möbelhersteller realisierte Mech-Mech Robotics eine KI-gestützte Lösung, die auf einem Fließband zufällig platzierte, weiße Sitzlehnen sicher erkennt und entlang definierter Konturen exakt verklebt. Ermöglicht wird dies durch den Einsatz der hochauflösenden, reflexionsarmen Mech-Eye Pro M Enhanced 3D-Kamera, die auch von schwarzen oder reflektierenden Bauteilen exakte 3D-Bilder erzeugt.